No choice

imagePHOTO PROMPT © Jan W. Field

 

Ink spilled over the bureau. I rose hastily to save my gown, overturning the chair. The letter, nearly finished, was ruined. What if he came home right now? He usually didn’t, but what if? My heart was pounding. I used my handkerchief, it wasn’t enough, I called for Maria to come, to bring a bucket and a cloth. She came in a hurry, I wanted to help her, but I didn’t want to stain my gown.

Before I left the parlour I took a last look at the piano, I wouldn’t  miss anything else.

Helene

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

12 thoughts on “No choice

Leave a Reply

